A. E. KÖCHERT

Diamantenring DIAMOND GUIDE

Diamond guide

The diamond is the only precious stone to consist of a single element: pure carbon. Diamonds formed in the depths of the Earth millions of years ago, as carbon crystallised under the influence of great heat and almost unimaginable pressure. Volcanic eruptions down the millennia have enabled the rocks containing the diamonds to gradually reach the Earth’s surface, where it is mined today. To find a diamond one carat in size, an average of 250 tonnes of rock has to be mined and processed, often from thousands of metres of ground. That’s 250,000 kg of rock – or 10 articulated lorries’ worth – for just 0.2 g of diamonds.

The diamond

Diamond is the hardest stone, the hardest element, in existence anywhere, and can only ever be cut by “its own” – in the shape of grinding blades edged with diamond dust.

The quality criteria of the diamond are known as the “4Cs”:

CARAT
CLARITY
COLOUR
CUT

The greater a diamond’s weight, the finer it is, whiter it is and finally, the more beautifully it is cut, the rarer it is considered to be. The same criteria apply to all other precious stones, albeit in toned-down form.

CARAT

Carat = Unit of measurement of the weight of precious stones; 1 carat is the equivalent of 0.2 grams.  Because a two-carat diamond is more than just twice as rare than a one-carat stone, it is not just twice as expensive. Instead, it costs around three times as much. 

 

1.00 carat
6.50 mm

2.00 carat
8.20 mm

3.00 carat
9.50 mm

4.00 carat
10.50 mm

CLARITY

Clarity  = fineness. This is a stone’s inner “completeness”. Inclusions reduce the clarity. These are traces of the moment of the stone’s creation, such as flaws, appearances of growth and small, included mineral particles.

For diamonds, there is an internationally recognised system of grading into different categories of clarity. This starts at flawless, or “LC” (Loupe Clean), progressing downwards in 10 stages to “I3”, when inclusions are clearly visible to the naked eye. A stone is considered to be flawless if a practised expert can make out no inclusions whatsoever using a tenfold magnifier (to below one-hundredth of a millimetre).

COLOUR

The colour of a diamond is produced by its deposits of trace elements, most frequently nitrogen, which is what lends the stone its unbelievably diverse yellow tinting. Grading exists here, too in the form of an internationally-recognised letter-based system: a colourless stone is a “D” (formerly known as “River”), “E” and “F” are what used to called “Top Wesselton”, and so on.

Once a diamond achieves a certain intensity of colour saturation into yellow, its price rises again sharply. This is known as “fancy colours”. Occasionally, diamonds can also be blue, green or pink in colour. Stones such as this are exceptionally rare, however, and incredibly expensive. A few years ago, a red one-carat diamond was sold at Christie’s for $ 980,000. 

Caution: some intense colour shades can be achieved by irradiation. For this reason, it is particularly important with coloured diamonds to insist upon a certificate which includes a statement of its colour. With a yellow diamond, for example, this might read “fancy yellow of natural origin”. 

CUT

 


The cut most commonly used is the classic “brilliant cut”. This has either 57 or 58 facets. At the end of the 1940s, physicists calculated a “perfect cut”, which would offer the observer the maximum number of reflections. This has since been succeeded by the modern brilliant cut, which is slightly different to what has become known simply as the “old cut”. Although this has the same number of facets, stones used to be cut more “by weight”, so that as much weight as possible remained after the cutting. This resulted in completely different proportions, as well as fewer reflections, and consequently less brilliance. You can tell you have an old cut stone from its far smaller “table” – the stone’s largest facet, on what is called its “upper body”. An old cut diamond is worth approximately 30% less than a stone with a modern cut. There are a wide range of different types of cut. Which of these you prefer is purely a matter of taste. In a certificate, you should be sure that where the document defines the stone’s proportions and finish, the grading is “very good” or “excellent”. 

In addition to the brilliant cut, diamonds are cut in a wide variety of other cuts and shapes
– here some examples:

The certificate

For stones one carat or larger in size, we recommend you always get a certificate. The stone will be more saleable if it comes accompanied by a certificate. Such a document offers a quick, easy and objective criterion for evaluating its quality. Ideally, the certificate should come from an internationally active institute. The most prominent of these are the GIA (Gemological Institute of America) and the HRD (Hooge Rat van Diamanten Antwerpen).

These days, the number of the certificate is often engraved by laser into the girdle of the diamond.

Price trend

The diamond trade is extensively determined by De Beers – one of the few monopoly operations still in existence. The South African company, owned by the Oppenheimer family, not only controls around 40% of diamond production through its own mines, but has also bound many other producers to itself, and joint marketing, through syndicate agreements. Thanks to an astute policy of supply management, it has proven possible to keep diamond prices broadly stable for the past twenty years. There have been strong increases in value (up to 100%), particularly in the medium quality sector, due to enormous demand from the Far East, where quality consciousness tends to be less pronounced in the case of diamonds than in Europe or the USA.

Verfügbarkeit anfragen


Verfügbarkeit & Preis anfragen


Oder rufen Sie uns an +43 1 512 58 28

A. E. KÖCHERT

Warenkorb

Warenkorb

Diamantenguide

Der Diamant ist der einzige Edelstein, der nur aus einem einzigen Element besteht, nämlich reinem Kohlenstoff. Gebildet haben sich Diamanten vor mehreren Millionen Jahren in den Tiefen der Erde, wo sich Kohlenstoff (Carbon) unter Einwirkung von großer Hitze und ungeheurem Druck kristallisiert hat. Das diamanthaltige Gestein, das Kimberlit, gelang durch Vulkanausbrüche an die Erdoberfläche, wo es heute abgebaut wird. Um einen Diamanten von der Größe eines Carates zu finden, müssen durchschnittlich 250 Tonnen Gestein, oft aus Tausenden von Metern Tiefe, abgebaut und aufbereitet werden. Also 250 000 kg, oder 10 Sattelschlepper für 0,2 g Diamanten.

Der Diamant

Er ist der härteste Stein, das härteste Element, das es überhaupt gibt und er kann nur von seinesgleichen geschliffen werden – von mit Diamantstaub besetzten Schleifscheiben.

Als Qualitätskriterien des Diamanten gelten die sogenannten 4 C’s:

CARAT = Gewicht
CLARITY = Reinheit
COLOUR = Farbe
CUT = Schliffqualität

Je größer, je reiner, je farbloser und zuletzt je schöner geschliffen ein Diamant ist, desto seltener ist er.
Für alle anderen Edelsteine gelten (abgesehen von der Farbe) in abgeschwächter Form dieselben Kriterien.

CARAT

Carat = Gewichtseinheit bei Edelsteinen, 1 Carat entspricht 0,2 Gramm. Ein Zweikaräter ist ungleich seltener als ein Einkaräter, daher ist er nicht nur doppelt so teuer, sondern er kostet etwa das Dreifache. Der Preis für größere Steine steigt also überproportional zu ihrer Größe an.

 

1.00 carat
6.50 mm

2.00 carat
8.20 mm

3.00 carat
9.50 mm

4.00 carat
10.50 mm

CLARITY

Clarity  = Reinheit: Diese bezieht sich auf die innere „Vollkommenheit“ eines Steines. Sogenannte Einschlüsse sind Spuren aus dem Moment des Entstehens des Steines (Risse, Wachstumserscheinungen, kleine eingeschlossene Mineralpartikel) und mindern in der Regel seinen Wert.

Bei Diamanten wird der Reinheitsgrad durch ein international anerkanntes zehnstufiges Graduierungssystem definiert: Es beginnt bei lupenrein (lc) und endet bei Imperfect3 (I3) – hier kann man schon mit dem freien Auge deutlich sichtbar Einschlüsse erkennen. Lupenrein ist ein Stein dann, wenn ein geübter Fachmann mit der Zehnfachlupe keinerlei Einschlüsse erkennen kann (unter ein hundertstel Millimeter).

COLOUR

Die Farbe eines Diamanten entsteht durch Einlagerungen von Spurenelementen, am Häufigsten Stickstoff, der ihm die verschiedensten Gelbfärbungen gibt. Hier gibt es ebenfalls eine Einteilung in ein international anerkanntes Buchstabensystem: Ein komplett farbloser Stein hat die Bezeichnung D und E (fast farblos), die alte Bezeichnung dafür ist River; F und G sind das alte Top Wesselton und so weiter.

Ab einer gewissen Farbsättigung jenseits der Farbe Z geht der Preis des Diamanten wieder sprunghaft in die Höhe. Hier spricht man dann von sogenannten „Fancy Colours“. Es gibt auch Diamanten, die ins Blau, Grün oder Rosa gehen. Diese Steine sind extrem selten und unglaublich teuer. Vor einigen Jahren wurde bei Christies beispielsweise ein 14 carätiger blauer Diamant im Smaragdschliff (der „Oppenheimer Blue“) um 57,6 Mio $ verkauft.
Achtung: manche intensive Farbtönungen lassen sich durch Bestrahlung erzielen. Daher ist es besonders bei farbigen Diamanten wichtig, auf ein Zertifikat zu bestehen, in dem in Bezug auf die Farbe „natural colour“ oder „natural origin” vermerkt ist.

CUT

Der heute gebräuchlichste Schliff ist der klassische Brillantschliff. Dieser hat 57 oder 58 Facetten. Ende der 1940er Jahre haben Physiker einen Idealschliff berechnet, der dem Betrachter ein Höchstmaß an Reflexionen bietet. Nur für diesen Schliff wird der Begriff „Brillant“ verwendet. Der moderne Brillantschliff ist etwas anders ist als der sogenannte Altschliff. Dieser hat zwar die gleiche Anzahl an Facetten, früher wurden die Steine aber mehr „auf Gewicht“ geschliffen in der Absicht durch das Schleifen möglichst wenig an Caratgewicht zu verlieren. Die Folge waren völlig andere Proportionen und eben auch weniger Reflexionen, also weniger Brillanz. Man erkennt einen Altschliffstein an der viel kleineren „Tafel“ – das ist die größte Facette des Steines an seinem sogenannten „Oberkörper“, der oft auch viel höher als beim modernen Schliff ausfällt. Der Wert eines Altschliffdiamanten vergleichbarer Größe und Qualität ist circa um 30% niedriger anzusetzen als jener eines modern geschliffenen Steines.

Neben dem Brillantschliff werden Diamanten in verschiedensten anderen Schliffarten und -formen geschliffen
– hier ein paar Beispiele:

Das Zertifikat

In einem Zertifikat wäre zu beachten, dass in Bezug auf den Schliff die „proportions“ und das „finish“ mit very good oder excellent beurteilt sein sollte.

Hier sind wir schon beim Thema Zertifikat: ab einem Einkaräter empfehlen wir in jedem Fall ein Zertifikat- es bietet ein objektives Kriterium zur Bewertung der Qualität und erhöht die Wiederverkäuflichkeit des Steins. Idealer Weise sollte das Zertifikat von einem international renommierten Institut kommen: das sind v.a. GIA (Gemmological Institute of Amerika) und HRD (Hooge Rat van Diamanten Antwerpen).

Heutzutage wird die Nummer des Zertifikat oft in die seitliche Kante (Girdle oder Rondiste) des Diamanten gelasert.

Preisentwicklung

Der Diamanthandel wird immer noch stark von De Beers dominiert. Dieses südafrikanische Unternehmen kontrolliert zwar nur ca. 40 % der Diamantproduktion durch eigene Minen, hat aber viele andere Produzenten durch Syndikatsverträge zu einer gemeinsamen Vermarktung an sich gebunden. Durch eine kluge Politik der Steuerung des Angebotes konnten die Diamantpreise in den letzten zwanzig Jahren weitgehend stabil gehalten werden.

Verfügbarkeit anfragen


Verfügbarkeit & Preis anfragen


Oder rufen Sie uns an +43 1 512 58 28